• Immediate Needs

    updated 8.29.11

    We do what we do as missionaries supported by people like you.

    We also prefer to give away as much content as we can, and not cloud that issue with a lot of public requests. That said, we do have specific needs that are met by people who believe the work we do has value.

    If you'd like a short list of immediate financial needs, you can find it HERE.

    Thanks!

    Note: This will be updated regularly

  • Recent interview on the Patricia King Show.

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • Old News

  • TwitterFeed

What I Could Not Have Known.

Forgive me, dear.  I didn’t know what I was getting you into.

We were young.  I was dumb.  You were forgiving.  And we became married.  You don’t need to be a Monster of Logic to see that I won the relationship lotto this one.

For twenty two years we have been married and it has been a ride.

Married in July, we had eight kids by December.   We spent a year and a half as house parents, learning that 22 and 19 might be too young to have teenagers, but we made it work.  You learned to cook for an army.  I learned to drive a 15 passenger van.  We use these skills every day.

Then we moved to Tennessee, where we youth pastored for seven years and had two biological sons.  The people were great, the teens were wonderful and somewhere near the seventh year the power of God hit and we saw some amazing things happen.

We moved to Cincinnati and gave life to another boy and a church.  The boy lived.  The church struggled.  We lost my father and both your parents by the time you were twenty eight.  And we learned to pray.

We moved to Kansas City – sometimes because I think we couldn’t think of anything crazier – and here we’ve made a life.  A nine month foray to Washington DC left us with a love for Capitol Hill and a burning desire to adopt.  Upon returning to Kansas City, we adopted our first daughter.

Two years later, a set of twin girls, then another girl the year after that.  The score had changed, the girls were up 4 to 3, and suddenly we were the most unlikely giant family any of our friends knew.  The digital amish gone to costco.

Our house is full now – to match our hearts.  I cannot fully express how grateful I am to God for sending you to me, or how glad I am that I didn’t run when you chased.  OK, I chased.  Whatever.  It’s worked out very well.

I love you , Kelsey.  Happy anniversary.

Photo by Shelley Paulson

6 Responses

  1. I love this.

    You people are worth imitating.

  2. Happy Anniversary to an inspiring couple! May God continue to bless your marriage and build your family as He chooses.

  3. happy anniversary! Sweet post.

  4. I agree with both of the previous responses! Loving and appreciating you guys every day! May God continue to bless and use you!

  5. I chased……lol love it.

  6. Happy Anniversary…your wife is beautiful…I don’t know you except through your posts, but through them I like you very much…when I was a little girl and dreamed of having a family of my own it looked a lot like the stories you tell about yours….perhaps I will have the opportunity to get to know you all in heaven…God Bless you all!!!!

Leave a Reply

