• Immediate Needs

    updated 8.29.11

    We do what we do as missionaries supported by people like you.

    We also prefer to give away as much content as we can, and not cloud that issue with a lot of public requests. That said, we do have specific needs that are met by people who believe the work we do has value.

    If you'd like a short list of immediate financial needs, you can find it HERE.

    Thanks!

    Note: This will be updated regularly

  • Recent interview on the Patricia King Show.

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • Old News

  • TwitterFeed

Morning in Alaska

It’s before 5am where my body is, but closing on 8am where my brain is.  I’m sitting in the dark with Piper who is similarly afflicted.  I’m drinking strong black coffee and Piper is peeling an orange, which takes six times longer than if she’d let me peel it for her, but it’s keeping her occupied and is cute as can be.

We flew in yesterday on an Alaska Airlines flight with the pilot warning us all the way across Canada “This is going to be a rough, windy landing….we may divert to Fairbanks.”  After a good 2 hours of warnings, we were psyched up for the landing of a lifetime, but he arced the plane over the Cook Inlet and landed so smoothly that passengers cheered, us included.

I love Alaska.  It’s unpretentious.  It doesn’t have to pretend to be anything it isn’t because…well, it’s Alaska.  Like, top that, other 49 states. I also love the people, who approach life with a can-do attitude that is remarkable.  When most of the world would call 911, Alaskans reach for the video camera.   As a group, they are the most entrepreneurial, creative, results-oriented group of people I’ve ever met.  When Nike rolled out it’s “Just Do It” campaign, my guess is Alaskans wondered what the options might have been.  They don’t have the option of not doing something.  Don’t shovel your driveway?  The weather will bury you.  Don’t shoot the bear in the back yard?  The bear will eat you.   Alaskans inherently have a Masters degree in Taking Care of Business.

Additionally, I’m convinced that Alaska plays a vital role in the future of our nation.  It’s more than geography and resources.  I can’t articulate it well, but neither can I deny it.  This is a place with a sense of purpose.

Kelsey and I are speaking at a women’s conference tonight and tomorrow, then I’m speaking in a local church Sunday and we head on back Monday.  In between we’ll fit a meeting regarding a June conference and TheCall Alaska.  I look forward to being home with the remainder of my tribe…but part of me stays here where it’s wild.

Leave a Reply

