• Immediate Needs

    updated 8.29.11

    We do what we do as missionaries supported by people like you.

    We also prefer to give away as much content as we can, and not cloud that issue with a lot of public requests. That said, we do have specific needs that are met by people who believe the work we do has value.

    If you'd like a short list of immediate financial needs, you can find it HERE.

    Thanks!

    Note: This will be updated regularly

  • Recent interview on the Patricia King Show.

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • Old News

  • TwitterFeed

Reading Plan(s) 2011: #NTx12

I spent the first six months of this year provoked by my friend, Robert Pooley from Florida.  Understand, Robert is a nice guy.  I know this first hand.  But he was provoking me by his aggressive reading of scripture.  Between January and the end of June he had read the entire Bible through twice.  And I…well, let’s just say I hadn’t.

Robert had been joined by his friend Steve Harrison in Tulsa, and they were just finishing up their second read through when I asked Robert if he was up for a third lap.  He answered “I will if you will….”.  And that was all it took.   In the next six months, I read the Bible through twice along with Robert, Steve, and a bunch of other people who jumped in via twitter, this blog, facebook, and occasionally, in realspace.  #B90x was happening.

Sunday afternoon I was at a football game (Go Chiefs!) when Robert’s messages started hitting my Blackberry.

“Steve and I think we’re gonna do something different….do you want in?”  Keep in mind the last time Robert dared me to do something, I read the Bible twice.  I committed pretty quickly.

Here’s the deal.  The three of us – and as many of you who want in – are not going to read the Bible in 90 days again.   We’re going to read the New Testament in 30 days.  Then we’re going to read it again.  And again.  And again all year long.

Specifically, here’s the challenge.  Read the New Testament through in 30 days, repeating the effort each month.

We’re calling it #NTx12.

This is why I like this challenge…in addition to a slightly slower pace that gets you over the same rich passages multiple times, it offers 12 times to jump on the bandwagon instead of 4.   #B90x was a little intimidating, but this is thirty days.  THIRTY DAYS.  Some of you have eaten McDonalds fries that were older than that.

Ground rules:

  • Anyone who wants in gets in.  Agreeing to join us does not sign you up to a specific theological construct or list of must-do’s or must-don’t’s.  We believe scripture to be the great equalizer if it’s read enough.
  • If you doof it, just start over on the first of the month.  No questions asked.  It’s not an all or nothing deal.
  • If enough people join, Robert might get a haircut like Steve and I.  OK, I’m not sure he’ll agree to that.

How do I play?

  • Go to YouVersion.com and sign up for an account.  If you did #B90x, it’s your same password, etc.  If you didn’t, starting an account is easy.  I did it.  ‘Nuff said.
  • Go to Bible > Reading Plans and select “New Thru 30”.  Then follow the plan, checking off chapters as you go.
  • If you use an iPhone, iPad, Blackberry or Android, the YouVersion App is a MUST GET.  You can read in line at the grocery store.  The iPad app is especially great.  I read the entire Bible that way.  They actually have far more mobile app options than anyone I know.  You can find them all here.

Let us know if you’re with us – we love the company.  Also, don’t forget to flip to the Old Testament and study some too – this isn’t a replacement for comprehensive Bible study, but it’s a great way to keep your nose in the Book.

18 Responses

  1. I’m in starting with round 2.

  2. I’m in! I was contemplating doing the #B90x again in January but I LOVE group activities! : ) Thanks for the challenge!

  3. I finished B90X on Sunday for the first time. Yes, it was hard, but I did it! I’m going to be writing about it on my Mom’s blog soon, so go check it out at allarepreciousinhissight.blogspot.com. Hhhhmmmm, I just might have to join you:-).
    Mattie Patterson

  4. I’m in!

  5. Ok…I’m in. Great iidea!

  6. You guys are ate up…Insane!!! I’m in.

  7. love Bob’s comment, “You guys are ate up…Insane!!! I’m in.” …let’s do this, honestly doesn’t look to difficult with all the grace days…what’s up with that? 🙂 I’m excited as well…

  8. I’m in. Thank you for sharing.

  9. […] twice from July until now. I’m more grateful for scripture than ever and look forward to NTx12 starting tomorrow!    Join […]

  10. I’ve been wanting to do this for sometime now so I’m going to sign up. No promises but I feel the tide.

  11. Eek! Well, I joined in on the B90x for one round and then I sorta fell off the map into oblivion as far as Bible reading goes. It was definitely great to have the accountability and a definitive reading plan, but then it was like I didn’t know where to go after I was done? I was actually planning on doing the NT in 30 days plan, but now you’re suggesting I do it 12 times in a row?!?!? Yikes – sounds hard and like it could actually maybe be incredibly amazingly good for me. I really want to try – by the grace of God I am with you!

  12. I’m in!

  13. i’m in.

  14. Count me in….can’t get youversion up…says it’s down for maintenance! Can’t wait….great challenge!

  15. I’m in

  16. […] a plan, I was lacking direction and so I ended up not reading my Bible at all!  When I read about some people who had this crazy plan to read through the New Testament in 30 days every month of this year […]

  17. We’re hooked! My college-age daughter and i have signed up – modified it to 10 chapters a day in the NT – go till we’re done! Love the energy!

  18. You gotta help me, Holy Spirit. I’m in!

Leave a Reply

