• Immediate Needs

    updated 8.29.11

    We do what we do as missionaries supported by people like you.

    We also prefer to give away as much content as we can, and not cloud that issue with a lot of public requests. That said, we do have specific needs that are met by people who believe the work we do has value.

    If you'd like a short list of immediate financial needs, you can find it HERE.

    Thanks!

    Note: This will be updated regularly

  • Recent interview on the Patricia King Show.

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • Old News

  • TwitterFeed

B90x – Why I’m Still At It

Those of you who catch a glimpse of me on twitter or facebook may have noticed my  updates about reading the Bible in 90 days.  I made a point to mention it every day to hold myself accountable, knowing that if I missed a day, one of you would say something.  So yes, fear of man drove me to read the Bible some days, but in the end, good was served.

Today was day 90 and I finished as planned.

A few hours later, I decided to start again tomorrow morning.  Same plan, same pace, same book, same place.  Here’s why.

I love the Bible but there are still parts of it I am not doing. Seriously, emmersing myself in 10-20 chapters a day kept the message in front of me – even the parts I wasn’t reading.  I found myself thinking about scripture more, and in the thinking about it, I found it harder to ignore.  The Word was simply on my mind.   It filled the cracks of my day that were usually filled with idle thoughts.

I need to read at a faster rate than I could possibly teach. Somewhere I heard Bill Johnson say that he never studies the Bible for sermon prep, but that his sermon prep comes out of his personal study.  I wish I was that spiritual.  I also wish I had his cool hair.  Neither of those things are happening for me right now, and when I read slowly, I cannot resist the thoughts of ‘how would I teach this?’.  I end up doing a constant reteaching in my mind, often missing the point for myself.  The firehouse approach worked great.

Scripture came alive to me in the last three months.  Even though I was reading so much more of it, my heart was more tender than ever before.  By the time I got to Revelation, I was cheering “Your judgments are righteous and true!  Bring it!”  Reading steadily brought my heart into alignment with His words.

A lot of people asked me about the reading plan, so here’s the scoop.

  1. How long does it take? It depends on how fast you read.  I read most days in 20-35 minutes.
  2. Where’s the plan? Go to YouVersion.com and sign up for an account (look for the link in the dark band at the top).
  3. Now what? Once you’ve got a log in, go to the tab labeled BIBLE and slide down to READING PLANS. There, you can choose from several.  I used the 90 day plan.
  4. Any other tips? Daily, you can go to YouVersion, log in, and see your plans. If you’re using an iPad, iPhone, Blackberry or Android phone, download the free app from your app store – you can track your progress on your phone as well.  I read the entire Bible on an iPad and knew exactly where to start every day.

You can choose your favorite version, even your font size…so what are  you waiting for? You can do this.

I know you’re busy.  I’ll put my busy up against yours, though.

Some of you wonder how you’ll find the time.

I didn’t find time as if there was spare time laying around, I fought for it and finally found it early in the morning before my regular life started.  Maybe you’ll find it late at night after everyone goes to bed, but by all means, find it.

After 90 days, I’m not ready to quit. I’m starting over.

8 Responses

  1. This post came as I was clicking “Save” on my Focused life document. Seriously. I’ll run with you. *scurries off to youversion.com*

  2. […] Randy Bohlender, a person I follow on Twitter, started tweeting about how he was reading the Bible through on a 90-day plan, and referred to the reading plan as B90X, a play off a series of popular fitness DVDs.  After thinking about it, I really want to read the Bible through starting this October 1 and ending at the end of the year so that I can meet the goal I’ve set for myself. […]

  3. I have been following your comments and have been determined to finish up at the same time. It does help to have others with the same goal. The Lord has been really pressing me about reading the word for the last two years. I realize everytime I read through it there are different layers that I didn’t get the other times. What I love the most is that you are starting back tomorrow. That’s what the word does, it keeps you hungry for more!! I am with you for the next 90 days!!! Thanks for the encouragement!

  4. One more thing, just an encouragement to those on this journey, I keep my Bible in a little shoulder bag with me all the time, don’t overlook the moments waiting on prescriptions, waiting in line for kids or just being patient with the long lines at the grocery store. Keep a bookmark in your spot, you would be suprised how much you can read in moments that are unexpected and out of our control! God Bless!!

  5. this is great! when i first read that you were doing this, it inspired me to read through the whole Bible again cover to cover. i am not getting it done in 90 days, but have a year goal and then i am listening to it on cd as well as i drive our kids to and from school, etc. i will get through the listening one a lot faster and it is previewing for me what i will read soon. anyways, thank you for giving me a kick in the pants by your example and keep up the great reading.

  6. Wow, and I thought I was a fast reader! It takes me at least an hour!
    And you forgot one…The Palm Pixi. They have an app for it, too!

  7. I’m on board with you randy. Started on the 28th. Thanks!

  8. I loved it too (B90x plan) and am doing it again but with a different bible . IT sure blows you away . It brought tears to my eyes reading about my name sake . I am not worth the sand they walked over but Thank God for his son Jesus . Spread the Love .

Leave a Reply

