• Immediate Needs

    updated 8.29.11

    We do what we do as missionaries supported by people like you.

    We also prefer to give away as much content as we can, and not cloud that issue with a lot of public requests. That said, we do have specific needs that are met by people who believe the work we do has value.

    If you'd like a short list of immediate financial needs, you can find it HERE.

    Thanks!

    Note: This will be updated regularly

  • Recent interview on the Patricia King Show.

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • Old News

  • TwitterFeed

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flip a coin and win both ways.

I’ve been working a bit on my talks for an upcoming weekend in Austin. I’ll be speaking on a Friday evening at the Austin House of Prayer and then Saturday at a breakout for the Together for Adoption conference.

Both audiences will be Christian, but I’m having to approach a core message of mine from two perspectives.

Friday night, it’s prayer types. My goal is to provoke intercessors into a lifestyle of active intercession that includes partering with God both in the asking for justice and in the dispensing of it. I used to think that being a part of the answer made you a better intercessor. I’m becoming convinced that it’s core to being an intercessor. An intercessor stands in the gap – gets in the middle where the mess is – until God steps in.

Saturday, I won’t need to convince anyone about adoption. They will have already heard more about adoption than most people learn in a life time (my breakout is scheduled for the famed ‘late Saturday’ slot…). Instead, I’m going to talk to the adoptive people about doing so out of a lifestyle of prayer. On of my biggest fears is that a host of people will spend their life on pursuing justice, adopting children and even sacrificing significantly to do so, only to stand before the throne at the end of the day to hear Jesus say “Uh, who are you?”.

So, that’s my schtick. One reality – a lifestyle of prayer leading to a radical adoption movement that pays dividends both now and forever. It’s going to be a blast getting to address both sides of the coin.

I also plan on scoring a “Keep Austin Weird” sticker, just fyi.

6 Responses

  1. Looking forward to finally meeting in person!

  2. score some fajitas, bro.

  3. love, love, LOVE Austin! Say hi to Amy and Thomas Cogdell and Todd Nance too for me… i know them from Antioch Network. Are you going to Austin Stone?
    oh my…. Have some Cielo water and visit Bennu coffee (close to Austin House of Prayer) please have a taco at one of the many taco stands, take a look at the bats under the bridge and breathe the air in the eclectic east side neighborhood for me. fyi the Lyndon B. Johnson Presidential Library was really worth our time. I always hated Texas until I went to Austin!!
    just kidding… just represent Christ and his heart about adoption well!
    Thanks for letting me reminisce about Austin!
    anita

  4. Anita, I’m only there for 24 hrs, I will need to pick and choose! 🙂

  5. Wow. This statement is profound in this day and age: “a host of people will spend their life on pursuing justice, adopting children and even sacrificing significantly to do so, only to stand before the throne at the end of the day to hear Jesus say “Uh, who are you?”.”

    Excited for your contribution to the conference!

  6. one regret from my texas life is not getting some sort of keep austin weird memorabilia … that made me smile 😀

Leave a Reply

