• Immediate Needs

    updated 8.29.11

    We do what we do as missionaries supported by people like you.

    We also prefer to give away as much content as we can, and not cloud that issue with a lot of public requests. That said, we do have specific needs that are met by people who believe the work we do has value.

    If you'd like a short list of immediate financial needs, you can find it HERE.

    Thanks!

    Note: This will be updated regularly

  • Recent interview on the Patricia King Show.

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • Old News

  • TwitterFeed

The Long Read

If you’re following along on the twitters, you know that I’m reading through the Bible in 90 days.  Today is day 34 of the grand experiment and I think I can say I’m comfortably hooked.

When in ministry, it’s not always easy to ascertain where one’s personal life ends and ministry life begins.  A good argument could be made that there is no distinction, and as noble as that sounds, it makes it easy to fall into a trap of most of your reading/study being somehow related to teaching or (re)presenting ideas.  Maybe it’s just me.  But I doubt it.

At the beginning of the year, my friend Robert Pooley – a pastor from the panhandle of Florida – began what felt to me like an insane reading program.  He was going to read through the Bible in 90 days.  Each day he’d tweet his progress.  I’d read it and thing “Good for Robert….”.    Then something crazy happened.  At the 90 day mark, he signed up to do it again.  On his second trip through, I watched his progress and quietly admitted to myself that I wish I’d started as well.

When he finished the second lap, I twittered a suggestion…”Ready for a third lap?”.  Honestly, he was prepping for a trip to Africa and wasn’t going to jump right back into it, but because he’s a good friend and a good leader, he quickly replied “I’ll go if you go with me…”.

Confession:  That’s what I was hoping for.

Following Rabbi Robert, I signed up for an account on YouVersion and then registered for the 90 day reading plan.   YouVersion breaks down your reading for you – 10, 12, maybe 15 chapters a day, with a surprise ‘day off’ on day 31 that freaked me out a bit.  (I read anyway…).  You can choose from almost every version you’d ever want to read.  You can read on your laptop, your iPhone, your iPad, your Blackberry, and probably a few other devices.

At first I was paranoid about getting behind.  I’d find myself reading a few of the next day’s chapters on my phone while standing in line at the grocery store.  Eventually I learned that the reading is manageable; by getting up a little earlier, I can read it all before having to start my day.  I also learned that it’s not a bad thing to be reading a few chapters of the Bible in line at the grocery store.  I began to enjoy it.  I began to think about it.  It has gone from a challenge to a joy.

Late last night I watch the Book of Eli for the first time.  I’m not a real movie buff – but the tenderness with which the Denzel Washington cared for The Book spoke to me.  The Book has the words that change life.  How would I revere my copy of The Book if it were the last one on earth?  To what end would I go to protect the message contained inside?

I’ve added a YouVersion badge to the right sidebar.  Check out their reading plans and give me a shout if you’re using one.  I’d love to hear about it.

At day 34, I’m looking forward to day 90 and the sense of accomplishment that I know I’ll enjoy.  I’m also sensing that I have changed my Bible reading habits for far longer than 90 days.

2 Responses

  1. I’ve had fun watching your descriptions of the daily readings on Twitter. It’s made me want to sign up too. I think I will.

  2. Thanks for the challenge and the encouragement. I am at the beginning having started yesterday. I was leaning toward the year long plan but ultimately decided on the 90 day plan.

Leave a Reply

