• Immediate Needs

    updated 8.29.11

    We do what we do as missionaries supported by people like you.

    We also prefer to give away as much content as we can, and not cloud that issue with a lot of public requests. That said, we do have specific needs that are met by people who believe the work we do has value.

    If you'd like a short list of immediate financial needs, you can find it HERE.

    Thanks!

    Note: This will be updated regularly

  • Recent interview on the Patricia King Show.

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • Old News

  • TwitterFeed

Moments Mean Something

It’s been a long couple of days at The Compound.  Kelsey and I are writing hardcore to finish a book as soon as possible, so it’s felt a little like burning the candle at both ends, especially with Piper having been extremely cranky from teething.  Some nights we’ve only gotten a couple hours of sleep.  If portions of this book end up being incoherent, you know when they were written.

A few days ago, I was sitting at a table, half awake, with the four girls running too and fro around me.  It was chaos.  One was yelling for “Dora!”, another was crying, one was dancing, and I’m pretty sure one had pooped her pants.   All of them save the dancer needed attention, and as soon as I moved to help one, I was sure the dancer would protest for her portion of the attention too.

Did I mention I was half awake?

In that state, I had a thought:  One day, this will be easier.  What I meant was as they get older, they’ll demand less immediate attention.  They’ll be more self sufficient.  A person may be able to drink an entire cup of coffee in our house one day without having to attend to someone else…but that’s not today.  Still, one day…this will be easier.

Almost instantly I sensed a slight rebuke from the Lord, and heard the phrase “You will look back at these days as the best days of your life.” Tears welled up in my eyes as I deeply regretted pining for easier days.

I’m not going to lie.  This is hard.  We go to bed fried on good days; destroyed on bad ones.  It costs more in time, money and effort than most people can imagine (and yes, God is faithful, but we seem to run out of all three on a regular basis).  Even so….I’m imagining myself twenty years down the road.  Boys gone, girls gone, all the time in the world…looking backwards at the best days of my life.

I learned years ago from a wise man that the best is yet to come.  I still believe that.  I expect and know that God will do great things with us and for us throughout our entire natural lives and beyond…but I don’t want to miss these moments….I don’t want to pass up enjoying  my busy little girls every day just because it’s hard to do life this way.

I don’t want to wish my way past this experience.

I don’t want to miss any of the best days of my life.

15 Responses

  1. i love this!

  2. thank Jesus for Netflix. I mean, you know what I mean…

  3. Thank you for letting God use you in a mighty way. There were many time last year that I as a parent God lifted me beyond my physical strengths. THANK YOU

  4. The Lord interrupted me in the middle of a “somday…” moment a while ago and I wrote this to sear it in my memory

    Someday my house will seem too quiet, and too-loud voices at naptime would be welcomed as joyful company.

    Someday I’ll be washing laundry only for two, and the absence of muddy tights & stained white dresses will only follow the absence of the wearer.

    Someday I will have abundant time to myself, where I can read|work|think|pray without interruption, and I will long for the surprise of toddlers too-soon awake.

    Someday the thought “I just wish I could have two hours to myself!” will be replaced with “I just wish we could have two hours all together!”

    Someday I will miss this.

  5. Good word bro.

  6. I think though.. no matter how old they become.. you will always have little ones around you. Whether it meaning your little ones grow up, you get new little ones.. or the big ones start to have littles too. Keep on spreading the love even when the toast is dry.

  7. Years ago I was the mom of 3 under age 3. It was exhausting, but I look back now from my empty nest and wish all the chaos was surrounding me. Those were some of my best times. I had a friend back then who really encouraged me to embrace every stage and age the kids were in and to purpose to enjoy them. I did, most days anyway, and I am so glad we danced, sat in the floor and read books, made play dough, and played pots and pan band every day. 🙂 Of course, I was 20something…not 40 something. You and Kels are my heros!

  8. Loved this! I am at the point of sending two birdies out of the nest (one out your way!) – the first to fly away – and so my version of the moments you write about are especially tender memories right now. I do remember that back in those times when life was so hard I vowed to REMEMBER what those moments were like, just so I’d appreciate to the full the whole-cup-of-coffee times that were to come! But it’s ALL good. And when I think of you I’ll remember to pray for just a few extra minutes of sleep in your day! Thanks for still finding time to share your thoughts.

  9. Feeling more than a little frazzled with my multiple boys today. Good word! I try to remind myself of that on a daily basis. My mom always tells me that she longs for the noise and chaos in her very quiet house now.
    Blessings to you ALL as you plow through the rest of the book. Can’t wait to read it!

  10. All I can say is yes… We are one the verge of empty nesters. Patte found old fathers day cards from the boys… It was a blink.

  11. Yes, yes, yes!! Such a timely reminder. I don’t want to wish these days away; even the tough ones….

  12. I am now 40 something, and have half of an empty nest. I can not tell you how I miss those days when they were all here.

  13. Thank you. A timely word…I’m a single adoptive mama of 2 and we were blessed to have a their newborn sister with us for 2 months. As all-consuming as these days are–somehow I know more are coming and I’ve tasted enough to know what it’s going to taste like with more. Yet….something in me still longs for it and is saying “yes”. I love Misty Edwards words…”How far will you let me go? How abandoned will you let me be?”

  14. This really hit home this morning man. I found myself doing the same thing this last week. Wanting the days when I can get through an entire sentence with my wife without interruption. The days to sit down after kids are asleep and know nobody will come downstairs and interrupt that. The Lord really used this to put these “interruptions” into perspective.

    I don’t want to wish these days away only to be wishing them back 20 years from now.

    Lots of tears from this this morning. Thanks for sharing bro…

  15. Our empty nest begins in less than a month and the moments you speak of bring emotions I didn’t realize were so strong in me. SAVOR this time with your precious little ones. God is faithful to give His beloved the rest we require to make it through these “tough” times and one day you wake up and wonder how it all passed so quickly. God Bless you for writing this.

Leave a Reply

