• Immediate Needs

    updated 8.29.11

    We do what we do as missionaries supported by people like you.

    We also prefer to give away as much content as we can, and not cloud that issue with a lot of public requests. That said, we do have specific needs that are met by people who believe the work we do has value.

    If you'd like a short list of immediate financial needs, you can find it HERE.

    Thanks!

    Note: This will be updated regularly

  • Recent interview on the Patricia King Show.

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • Old News

  • TwitterFeed

Fight or Flight

We’ve all been there.  Maybe it was a dark alley we’d ducked through to get to our parked car – and discovered it was populated by a small mob of surly characters.  Then again, it might have been bright day light as we opened the mailbox and discovered a letter from the IRS.

Whatever the circumstance, you know the feeling…a slight tightening of the chest.  Your eyes go into immediate focus.  You become painfully aware of the immediate situation and you’re faced with a decision: fight or flight? Do I stand my ground and walk this out or do I cut and run?

I’ve been binge reading Galatians the last few days.  Once in a while, by the grace of God, I get an insatiable appetite for one portion of scripture and find something new every time I read it, even if I’m reading it back to back several times a day.  This morning, I hit Galatians 1:3….or  rather it hit me.

“Grace and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ, who gave Himself for our sins to rescue us from the present age, according to the will of our God and Father…”.

This passage, which to me had always been one of those skim verses that we cruise through on the way to what we might consider ‘the meat…’, has a few chicken nuggets of it’s own.   It struck me that what Jesus gave Himself to rescue us from was not a place….but a season.

What does it mean to be rescued from a season rather than a place?

For me, it’s a reminder that we’re not going anywhere fast.  Granted, those who die go to be with the Lord….but the Millennial Kingdom of Jesus takes place on Earth, not Pluto.  Your geographical location – where you are right now – will exist during that 1,000 year reign.  The salvation of Jesus is not some magical witness protection program, but the overthrow of the present evil system.

Additionally, I started thinking about how often God thinks of salvation in terms of endurance rather than evacuation.  He is rescuing us – bringing us through – a season of time.   If my heart is still in communion with Him when the season is done, then I have found my deliverance.

Jesus walked the same road with His father…to the point of saying “Into your hands I commit my spirit.”  He willingly drank the cup of crucifixion in realspace and realtime, in order to conquer a system and pave the way for a new season.

Escapism says ‘if I run now, I can live to fight another day.’

Endurance says ‘I will fight right here, right now.’

Escape artists may live for a season, but they rarely choose to fight and are doomed to try and escape for all eternity.

Masters of endurance walk out of the other side of the valley, having endured the dark night, knowing that the day is new, the giant is dead, and salvation has come.

2 Responses

  1. This is unbelievably good. I am saving this to send to some others I know need to read it too. Thanks.

  2. Thanks,
    Sometimes I get a big swell of gratitude inside for the Gospel being the Gospel. This post makes me feel that way.

    blessings

Leave a Reply

