• Immediate Needs

    updated 8.29.11

    We do what we do as missionaries supported by people like you.

    We also prefer to give away as much content as we can, and not cloud that issue with a lot of public requests. That said, we do have specific needs that are met by people who believe the work we do has value.

    If you'd like a short list of immediate financial needs, you can find it HERE.

    Thanks!

    Note: This will be updated regularly

  • Recent interview on the Patricia King Show.

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • Old News

  • TwitterFeed

    • RT @JanePitt: Hi. Puerto Rico is home to 3.5M US citizens who have no electricity or cell service and dwindling food/water. What are you m… 2 hours ago
    • Ok I’m going to take flack for this, but i have wondered the same questions about the issue of protecting the unbor… twitter.com/i/web/status/9… 2 hours ago
    • Manning the grill for a farewell for my son Jackson and his beautiful wife Mari, they’re heading to Colorado Spring… twitter.com/i/web/status/9… 2 hours ago
    • So apparently Sporting was playing at home. We should explains were a few of you were this morning. Not pointing fingers. 4 hours ago
    • Win a trophy on Wed. Win an away game on Sunday. That’s how they do. @SportingKC twitter.com/bluetestamentk… 4 hours ago
    • RT @mellinger: You guys can make your snarky jokes but this is a nice MLS stadium that's tarped off seats to host an NFL game. https://t.co… 7 hours ago
    • Often, Christians deal w/ fear by downplaying it. That sells books but doesn’t satisfy. Psalms never minimized it but speaks of deliverance. 12 hours ago
    • Praying for pastor friends across the nation this morning. Florida. Ohio. Texas. Nevada. California. Alaska. Give them heaven, friends. 12 hours ago

Lazy Man’s Blog Post

I’ve always considered the bullet list to be a lazy man’s way to blog. Rather than form a train of thought, it was sort of a mental burp of things.  I would never blog that way.  I am a….writer.

Unfortunately, I am also….fried.  It’s been a crazy weekend and I have much to say but little ability to form coherent thoughts, so a bullet list it is.

  • Kudos to Jackson on his graduation. The last ten days or so I have been reminded just how much I enjoy this kid.  I told him earlier “When you were born and I first saw you, my heart leapt.  I still have every bit of that feeling within me for you.  When I hear you walking down the stairs in the morning – it’s all there.  It never goes away.”
  • Our ‘life board’ rocked. A week or two before graduation, the seniors were told to make a display board celebrating their life.  Honestly, it sounded like homework and we really didn’t want to think about it….so we didn’t.  Until 9pm the night before.  Then we cut a 24 inch square in the middle of the board, taped some photos around the edges, and stuck an iMac behind it playing a montage of photos and one of Jackson’s videos.  Go big or go home, I say.
  • The graduation ceremony was a blast. This senior class had more character (and more characters) than you can imagine.  For a real hoot, check out their senior class video. Watch here for Jackson’s iPad appearance.    It was also great to see each parent speak a few minutes’ blessing over their student.  I’d like to say that we went 2:56 of our allotted 3 minutes while others went on for an eternity, but I’m not judging.  (I know we went 2:56 because someone timed us and a congrats hit my blackberry about the time we sat down).
  • OK, I cried. I am a non-crier, but about halfway through the second song of the worship time, I glanced at his graduating class and saw so many kids in their gowns with both hands raised that I lost it.  Hot tears rolled down both cheeks.  I regained my composure only to lose it again as Kelsey and I shared our thoughts over Jackson onstage.
  • We are rich in friends. Allen Hood spoke at the graduation – a phenomenal, loving, encouraging charge to these kids – and I thought “this is our friend….how incredible.”  Today was Jackson’s party and over a hundred people flooded The Compound over the course of three hours – amazing people that one would be fortunate to have one or two of in their lives….and a hundred of them show up to celebrate with us.  I am humbled by all this tonight.

Thanks to all who emailed or sent Jackson a congrats.  We all appreciate your thoughts – and frankly, I’m glad the party is over and we can get back to work!

3 Responses

  1. #1 – they were told MONTHS ago about the LifeBoard….just to be fair : )

    #2 – Graduation was amazing, dittos on everything you said.

    #3 – The party isn’t over…it’s just beginning. 1 down, 6 to go Dad!

  2. 1) Months? No joke?
    3) Just six? Are you quitting on me? HAHA!

  3. […] bulleted lazy man’s blog post.  When only three people read your blog it is foolish to spend too much time on […]

Leave a Reply

