• Immediate Needs

    updated 8.29.11

    We do what we do as missionaries supported by people like you.

    We also prefer to give away as much content as we can, and not cloud that issue with a lot of public requests. That said, we do have specific needs that are met by people who believe the work we do has value.

    If you'd like a short list of immediate financial needs, you can find it HERE.

    Thanks!

    Note: This will be updated regularly

  • Recent interview on the Patricia King Show.

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • Old News

  • TwitterFeed

    • Uh...you do know it doesn't matter anymore, right? twitter.com/kmbc/status/89… 11 hours ago
    • The second week of our series', MADE FOR, is posted on iTunes. >> itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/hil… 16 hours ago
    • I understand Liberty grads expressing anger, but mailing back a diploma is only powerful if you quit the job you got with the degree. 17 hours ago
    • Does anyone know what time the eclipse is? I’ve been in Target getting a few things and I don’t want to miss it. 19 hours ago
    • I can’t tell if that’s a thunderstorm or we’re taking fire. 1 day ago
    • Arguments with furniture are rarely productive. -- Kehlog Albran / These are gems that I find in my inbox from @stevesjogren ! 1 day ago
    • Just realized I missed opportunity of a lifetime to preach on the depravity of man and titled it "the path of totality". Maybe next time. 1 day ago
    • Just read the organizers of the Eclipse failed to get a permit. So many disappointed people. 1 day ago

Stuff I Learn in School

I’m still in school.  Not in the 42-year-old eleventh-semester-senior sort of a way, but in a very real way, I’m still in school, and there is a real, brick and mortar building where I go to class.   The oddity is that I’m both teacher and student.

Currently I’m teaching an Old Testament Survey class to thirty-some 9th and 10th graders.  It’s the 40,000 ft view version – the entire Old Testament in meta narrative fashion in twelve sessions.  The class meets for 2 hrs and 15 minutes each week.  That’s a long time to talk to 9th and 10th graders and it’s a lot of material to cover.   Think of it as driving 80mph for two solid hours.  Off road.

Yesterday, we talked at length about Esther.  The story of Esther, told in within twitter limits is this: Esther, a Jewish girl, is favored by ungodly king, becomes his wife, and leverages her favor to change history.

We spent a significant amount of time on something that her uncle, Mordecai, said to her when spurring her to action.

“For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance for the Jews will arise from another place, but you and your father’s family will perish. And who knows but that you have come to royal position for such a time as this?”

Part of the conversation revolved around how much of Esther’s life up until that point was God ordained, how much was dumb luck, where had she made good choices and even perhaps where had she doofed it.  We’re quick to turn her into a saint, but some would argue she’d already compromised Jewish law by being a part of a bizarre, queen-determining beauty pageant that featured – in place of a talent competition – all of the girls sleeping with the king.

Even as I was guiding the discussion that bounced back and forth between free will, determinism, and the odd spots in the middle, I was searching my own heart.

What were the right calls I’d made? When did I hear God and when did I miss Him? Was I enjoying the benefit of those right decisions or was I paying the price for mistakes – and if I’d made mistakes (if? More like when…), had I altered my own destiny with my failures?

And who knows but that you have come to royal position for such a time as this?

We began to talk about the fact that even Mordecai doesn’t touch the issue.  He doesn’t talk about how she got there.  He neglects to talk about the journey, but he does predicate the ‘who knows’ with “If you remain silent at this time…”.

Praying over that this morning, it settled in my heart that the operative portion of all this is not the ‘how did I get here” but the “if I remain silent…”.  God is certainly interested in us making right choices but He’s not beyond redeeming our wrong choices and allowing us to make good ones from where we find ourselves.

Is our current position one He led us to or chased us to?  Have we turned the right direction at every fork in the road or have we veered the wrong direction a time or two?  When I consider our own position, I can see evidence of both, and honestly, sometimes the mistakes haunt me…even the ones I’ve asked for forgiveness for.  Not because I don’t feel forgiven, but because I wonder what it means in relation to being useful to God.

None of it matters in His miraculous way of giving individuals opportunity.  In the way of the Kingdom, where we’ve been, where we are and how we got here is completely secondary to where we head from here.  We’re not defined by what we’ve done but by what we’re choosing right now.

After ten years of nailing it or ten years of blowing it, the call of Mordecai rings true for each of us….perhaps all you’ve done, all you’ve been through, all you’ve gotten right and all you’ve gotten wrong can be brought into alignment with His plan.

Today, if you’d like.  He would.

For such a time as this.

3 Responses

  1. I’ve been reading your blog for quite some time now and have never once left a comment. Though I’ve wanted to multiple times, I’ve always felt like it wasn’t my place to do so. This time I am compelled to. I just have to say that this spoke to me on a very deep level and I am extremely thankful for the truth contained in it. I could say much more but as it would then be displayed for all the world to see, I will not. But thank you. Really. This ministered to me in a very serious, Father heart of God, sort of way. I needed that.

  2. Good read Randy. I think a lot of people have come to the same place of reflection a time or two. In my life, I have looked back at my wrong turns and at first regretted doing so. But then I realized that those missteps were how I became who I am today. I am certainly not saying my behavior was good then, but the Lord used it for good as He is so awesome at doing.

    Good stuff bro!

  3. Wow. I was praying and thinking about this same kind of thing just yesterday, but couldn’t have explained it nearly so well. Thanks for posting this.

Leave a Reply

