• Immediate Needs

    updated 8.29.11

    We do what we do as missionaries supported by people like you.

    We also prefer to give away as much content as we can, and not cloud that issue with a lot of public requests. That said, we do have specific needs that are met by people who believe the work we do has value.

    If you'd like a short list of immediate financial needs, you can find it HERE.

    Thanks!

    Note: This will be updated regularly

  • Recent interview on the Patricia King Show.

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • Old News

  • TwitterFeed

Dealing With Limited Quantities

There is a rule of human nature that says we treat things of limited quantity differently than things of which there is an endless supply. This is why we hang gold records on the wall but used to use AOL install cd’s as coasters. Familiarity breeds contempt – this is not only true of relationships, but of objects and ideas….particularly those of which we have plenty.

I’m in no place to be telling God what to do, but if I might make a suggestion, I’d encourage Him to give each human being a Heads Up Display, maybe in the lower right corner of our vision, that would show us a exactly how much time we had left on earth. Nothing big or gaudy, just a little reminder. There is a clock. It is ticking every second…and it’s not counting up, it’s counting down. We have time left, but it is not an eternity before eternity will be thrust upon us, ‘ready or not’, as children often say.

I drifted through Psalm 39 this morning – it’s always a favorite because it serves as a strong reminder that guarding my ways means guarding my speech. This morning, though, the take-away for me was verses 4 and 5.

Oh Lord, make me known my end and what is the measure of my days; let me know how fleeting I am! Behold, you have made my days a few handbreadths, and my lifetime is as nothing before you. Surely all mankind stands as a mere breath…

Grayson has developed an interest in genealogy lately, investigating my dad’s side of the family. Looking at jpg’s of gravestones and pdf’s of court documents, it reminded me that if I live to 63, I will have outlived both my dad and my grandfather.  Neither made it past that birthday.   That was tragic when I lost my dad when I was 28.  It’s even more sobering having already rounded the 40 marker.

You don’t have a counter to watch today….but you do know this gig doesn’t go on forever. Does that change how you’re going to spend the afternoon? Does it change the way you’re going to speak to people? Does it change anything?

4 Responses

  1. how timely…

    thank you.

  2. You are prophetic.

  3. Sobering truth.
    I needed that.
    I think sometimes, we all do.
    Thank you.

  4. That was so on the mark. It made me stop in my tracks and really think. Thank you for that.

Leave a Reply

