• Immediate Needs

    updated 8.29.11

    We do what we do as missionaries supported by people like you.

    We also prefer to give away as much content as we can, and not cloud that issue with a lot of public requests. That said, we do have specific needs that are met by people who believe the work we do has value.

    If you'd like a short list of immediate financial needs, you can find it HERE.

    Thanks!

    Note: This will be updated regularly

  • Recent interview on the Patricia King Show.

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • Old News

  • TwitterFeed

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feels like we’re under…

attack

The blogging has been admittedly sparse the last two weeks, but it’s certainly not for lack of things to write about.  It’s actually got more to do with the lack of a quiet moment at the keyboard.  It’s after midnight as I write this, and my gut says our house has not seen the last outburst of the evening, so I’m writing quickly.

We’ve taken a few whacks.  I have a predisposition not to mention this because I could easily name a three friends in much worse circumstances and I’m sure there are a hundred more in a three block radius, but they’re not blogging.  Here’s what’s up.

The Great Compound Plague of 2009

Of our seven children, only Zion has escaped unscathed.  They’ve all been sick, ranging from ear infections to H1N1 (this is not a joke….).   It’s been ten days of Ugh, and just as everyone was recovering, Mercy’s ear infection flared up again, and Baby Piper was diagnosed with H1N1.

IMG_0073Please pray for Piper.

She’s still pretty little and while we’re all learning that H1N1 is not the Kill-All that we thought it might be, it still has the potential to be very serious.  Not to mention the combination of the twins and Piper being sick means not a lot of sustained sleep for anyone.

Kelsey and I remain healthy, although she’s a bit achy tonight.  Pray for protection over all of us and a quick recovery for the kids, especially Piper.

The Vehicle Debacle

Two weeks ago, my beloved 2001 Montero did what it had never done in all of it’s 175,000 mile life: It left me setting by the side of the road.

Nothing-tricks-out-your-4x4-like-a-cartop-carrier-1Having piloted this trusty truck for eight years (It had 25,000 miles on it when we bought it the weekend Zion was born), it coasted quietly to a stop. It’s pictured here getting ready to head to Colorado back in 2004.

It took the first mechanic a week to admit he was stumped.   Mechanic number two had wiring diagrams and a lot of confidence.  He decided that wires within the wiring harness somewhere were rubbing and the only real fix would be replacing the entire wiring harness….a $1200 part and about $2500 in labor.

I limped home with the truck tonight, holding my breath, which apparently works because I was able to ease it through The  Compound gate without it shutting down on me.  It now sits in front of the house mocking me. It looks great.  I just don’t dare drive it anywhere I can’t walk home from, and I certainly can’t use it to transport the smaller kids.  I really wanted to drive this truck forever, or perhaps jump from it as it went over a cliff and watch it go out in a blaze of glory…but waylaid by wiring?  Oh the shame.

All this to say we could use a little dose of the miraculous…in healing and in finances.

We  are very blessed with health insurance, although even with that, we’ve spent enough in copay’s in the last ten days that I could have leased a Lexus.  Add to that two unsuccessful mechanic stops and two vehicles, one not really useful and the other too small for the tribe.

Feels like God must be up to something.  These are always the times He shows Himself strong.

We’d appreciate your prayers.

7 Responses

  1. I woke up wondering today what was keeping you busy – seemed more than the usual ruckus, and i sensed you needed prayers, so i was already sending them – will double up now.

  2. Wow. I’ll be praying for you guys.

  3. Done…praying for your tribe today.

  4. Praying a hedge of protection and healing around you and yours and for supernatural financing. God Bless!

  5. Our prohecy team prayed for you all this morning at 6:30 am in the Israel Prayer room! We are all contending for your family!

    Be Blessed!

  6. Funny. Your issues have mirrored ours. We have had the Croup epidemic sweep through our kids. Not only that, we (my wife and I) have had forms of illnesses we have not named yet. We had one of our sick kids on a steroid which caused roid rage.

    We also have had one car wreck and two major car repairs.

    Tis the season?

  7. Are you the same Pastor Randy Bohlender that attended Burning Man a few years back? I would like to interview you for my blog. Would you mind emailing me directly at Stephanie@SocialBling.com?

    PS I am a Christian.The article I read about Burning Man was inspiring. I will tell you more if you have time to exchange some emails.

    With Inspiration – Stephanie

Leave a Reply

