• Immediate Needs

    updated 8.29.11

    We do what we do as missionaries supported by people like you.

    We also prefer to give away as much content as we can, and not cloud that issue with a lot of public requests. That said, we do have specific needs that are met by people who believe the work we do has value.

    If you'd like a short list of immediate financial needs, you can find it HERE.

    Thanks!

    Note: This will be updated regularly

  • Recent interview on the Patricia King Show.

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • Old News

  • TwitterFeed

    • Notes for tomorrow are finished and scribbled on so I’m watching LA v San Jose on the Univision feed. 3 hours ago
    • Elijah was told to anoint Elisha. He faced a decision - resent that another will be the prophet or shape the life of the prophet to come? 5 hours ago
    • If the world shows us 1 pattern & Bible describes another, let’s shape our lives to fit scripture than twist scripture to justify our lives. 5 hours ago
    • We’ve confused Elijah’s daily assignments with his life’s calling. Drought, confrontation & fire were just his To Do list. 6 hours ago
    • Tonight's agenda, @sportingkc v @ColoradoRapids and sermon prep. I don't preach long. I go into stoppage time. 7 hours ago
    • Scripture's goals for family are far from what modern culture depicts. The expected parent/child antipathy doesn't need to be our story. 8 hours ago
    • Well, it's not like I didn't warn you. https://t.co/YivN6juMhz 13 hours ago
    • Storm imminent. Batten down the hatches, if you have hatches. https://t.co/joaGbbandb 13 hours ago

What are you learning?

October will mark seven years of blogging for me.   I’ve watched it go through quite a metamorphis, from “What’s blogging?!” to “You blog?” to “Everyone blogs.” to “There are too many blogs to read.” to “You still blog?”

Yes.  Since Ocober of 2002.  And I do it because I like to write.  The fact that a few people like to read it is an affirming bonus, but honestly, I’d probably write if no one read it at all.  That’s why in all these years, I don’t think I’ve ever featured another writer.  I’m making an exception today.

Rusty and Jen Geverdt direct the Cincinnati House of Prayer. For years, we have considered them among our dearest friends.   Rusty did Burning Man with me in 2002 and a side trip to the Burning Man offices with me in 2003.  Jen taught me to drink tea by refusing to make me coffee one Thanksgiving when our families shared a cabin in the Smokey Mountains.  There is no couple on earth that I’m happier with sitting around the fire, each with our own books, not talking for hours.   They are the real deal, carrying a burden for a city and the souls therein.

I received their newsletter today, consisting primarily of the following article.   When I read it, I sent Rusty and email, fewer than 20 words long…but ‘wow’ was used twice.  Then I read the article again and sent a second email asking him permission to blog it.

More than anything in a long time, this touched something deep within me.  Thanks, Rusty.  We love you and your family very much…

PRAYING WITH SWEAT / rusty geverdt

I recently found a frustrated 11-year-old hiding behind a tree in our front yard. It was one of those times when willful protest regarding homework seemed wise to our youngest son, Aidan. That didn’t go over well with me, so I went out searching and found an angry face peering from behind the big oak. A pouty lip and angry eyes seemed to say, “I’m not doing anything,” yet there was the hint of a smile as he ducked behind the tree again.

From tree to tree he ran when I called him in. “I’m not doing it, I’m not doing it,” he yelled. I turned back into the garage as it began to rain…hard… and soon the outside frustration was brought inside.

The tactics of avoidance are different inside; running away doesn’t work nearly so well. I held his arm to focus attention, and he angrily twisted and fought me off. He was clearly upset, but there was that smile again. He flipped between resisting and enjoying the struggle in my arms for a good ten minutes. It wasn’t playful, but it wasn’t all-out aggression, either.

I kept saying to him, “I’m strong and I won’t let go of you. You don’t know how much I love you. As much as you struggle, I’ll never let go. I’m very strong, I can outlast you. I’ll never stop loving you.” I kept repeating what was true.

He fought me hard, sometimes with frustration, sometimes with laughs, while straining and pulling with all his might. When I had him all wrapped up in my arms I’d say, “What are you learning?”

The more he struggled, the more I’d say it. He didn’t want to respond, but I was unrelenting.

“You’re strong”, he finally barked out.

“Yes I am”, I said, “I’m way stronger than you know…” He’d twist all the more to break my hold. “My love for you is strong…stronger than you know.” I’d say, over and over.

His energy was spent, but I held tight, I wanted real strength to be felt. When I finally let loose, the spirit of things changed in the house. There was still resistance, but more willingness, too.

He needed to fight, and he needed to be resisted, but resisted with love…. love that wouldn’t let go.

The next morning in the 8-10 am prayer meeting at Cincinnati House of Prayer, an unexpected surge of energy and strength came upon everyone in the prayer room. The atmosphere was supercharged. We all felt it in different ways, and pressed in hard. We were seriously “wrestling” in the place of prayer for the city, the church and the region. We were gripped for over an hour. We knew that we were touching something powerful.

Breathing heavy and even wiping my brow, it dawned on me how familiar this morning’s prayer meeting felt like the wrestling of the evening before. There was real effort and purpose in it; something was happening.

Just then I heard the Lord speak to me,  “What are you learning?” I began to smile, feeling the connection.

“You’re strong!” I said on the inside.

I heard in return, “More than you know, the greatest always wins.”

1 Cor. 13:13 says, “And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.”

Aidan had acquiesced the previous evening, but I’m sure we’ll wrestle again, perhaps soon. But love is strong. It never gives up. It never fails.

And so it is with prayer. ”When the Son of man returns, will He find this kind of faith on the earth?” (Lk 18:8) I know He will, the question is whether He’ll find it in me?

I see I have some “strength” training to do. Wrestling in Love, at home or for the city still finds me weak. Fortunately, Cincinnati has a “prayer fitness center” called the Cincinnati House of Prayer. Strength training is done daily. Whew! I’m not as fit as I plan to be. See you in the gym!

______________

n558533985_1668969_75171Rusty & Jen Geverdt live in Cincinnati, Ohio, with their three children, Abbey, Ian and Aiden.  They direct the Cincinati House of Prayer, where they serve the city as missionaries in intercession.

They are a force to be reckoned with, and we’re grateful to call them friends.

5 Responses

  1. What else can you say but wow….with wet eyes!

  2. It makes me laugh out loud and cry a little to realize that God used Rusty in Cincinnati to encourage a fearful me in Nashville this morning.

    (And you’re right – Rusty ROCKS. I will never forget sitting in the VCC atrium with him talking about children and prayer. His passion was contagious and I haven’t been able to shake it yet. God liked using that Rusty Geverdt.)

  3. Agree with the Wow! Forwarded this to the rest of the staff at the station. Thanks! This was more timely than you can imagine.

  4. Encouraging word to anyone involved with raising kids and raising a house of prayer. I will never forget the time that you, Kelsey, Rusty, Jen, and the team from Cincy came to train us in the Harp and Bowl prayer model. That was my first introduction to the prayer movement. That was July 2002 and by God’s grace and wonderful mercy ,we are still at the wall of intercession in East TN.

  5. this is so good…

Leave a Reply

