• Immediate Needs

    updated 8.29.11

    We do what we do as missionaries supported by people like you.

    We also prefer to give away as much content as we can, and not cloud that issue with a lot of public requests. That said, we do have specific needs that are met by people who believe the work we do has value.

    If you'd like a short list of immediate financial needs, you can find it HERE.

    Thanks!

    Note: This will be updated regularly

  • Recent interview on the Patricia King Show.

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • Old News

  • TwitterFeed

When The Veil Grows Thin Between Here and There

On most days, there is a nearly impenetratable barrier between our world and the next.  We may believe in, pursue, and even lay claim to that world, but we spend the vast majority of our time in this one.

Even so, once in a while, the veil grows thin.   I had a dream a few nights ago that seems like one of those thin places to me.

In the dream, we had just closed a sale on a large farm house.   Regular readers will know this place as The Compound.  We’ve been working on the purchase of it for a while.

I dreamed I was walking through the house and went up the long stairway into a large room on the second floor.  When I got upstairs, I looked up to see a hole in the ceiling.  I was a little disturbed because we’d just bought this house and I was afraid that fixing it was going to cost a lot of money.

As I stood and looked at the hole, Jill Austin came walking slowly up the stairs, crossed from right to left in front of me, and turned to look at the ceiling.  In the interest of full disclosure, I did not know Jill very well.  I met her a number of times in meetings and have had a few brief conversation with her.    I’ve never dreamed about her before.   I remember thinking it was odd, even in my dream.

As we stood and watched, the hole in the ceiling began to get larger – it started about the size of a basketball but was expanding to expose more and more.

Jill glanced at me from time to time, but primarily kept her eyes on the growing hole in the ceiling, exposing all that was above.  A couple of times, she smiled, glanced at me for a moment, and said “It’s open.   It’s open up there, see?”, nodding to me as if I should understand.

Of course, I was too concerned about the condition of the house to understand that she was alluding to anything else.   I was worrying about the temporal.   She was unconcerned – even intrigued – with the happenings above our heads.

Suddenly, it dawned on me that the ceiling was opening, but it wasn’t falling in on me.  No plaster lay on the floor, yet the hole grew larger.     She was right – it was as if the heavens were opening up.

With that, I woke up.

Friday afternoon, we really did close the sale on that farm house.

A few hours later, we got word that Jill went to be with the Lord.

_jillThank the Lord for Jill, whose hunger for an open heaven challenged us all to look higher.  

More than any of us can imagine, it’s open up there.

Go to Master Potter Ministires for more  information, links to the webstream of Monday’s memorial service, or to contribute to the memorial fund.

6 Responses

  1. Randy, what an amazing story. I, too, only met Jill just a couple of times. She was so sweet and unassuming, content to speak what she Heard. There is certainly a void to be filled in her absence.

  2. Wow… Was that before she even got sick?

  3. Yes, I saw her in the prayer room and had the dream that night.

  4. Man, that sounds like Jill. I miss her so much. I love how she was always watching, waiting, asking, listening. Always looking up. I am glad I found this tonight.

  5. Thank you for sharing this awesome dream encounter.

    Yes, I shared some thoughts about Jill on my Blog: Journey Of Intimacy.

    Bless you!

  6. Thanks for sharing that Randy. I shared it with Tracy and couldn’t get through it without tears. We are so excited about what this means for your family and for all who would lift our eyes to the heavens!

Leave a Reply

